String Quartet No. 1, op. 8 - Vítězslava Kaprálová

10. prosinec 2009

Vítězslava Kaprálová (1915 - 1940) composed the three-movement String Quartet opus 8 in summer 1935 almost entirely during her holiday sojourn at a place she liked most: in a small village called Three Wells (Tři Studně) amidst the beautiful countryside of the Czech-Moravian Highlands.

The music of the quartet reflects the joy and self-assurance stemming from the recent success of her graduate's concert in Brno; she wrote as she felt. The nature of the piece is that of an undisturbed and worriless atmosphere of relaxation. It is an immediate reaction to the composer's life experiences; a bridge that unites the school and study period and the real life of an artist.

Other compositions by Vítězslava Kaprálová published in Czech Radio:
Christmas Prelude
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in D Minor
Military Sinfonietta op. 11
Partita for Piano and String Orchestra
Sad evening
Suita rustica, op. 19
Suite en miniature, op. 1
Two Choruses for Women’s Voices, op. 17

instrumentationvnoI, vnoII, vla, vcldescriptionscore, partspubl.NoR 168price280,- CZK

Spustit audio