Due preludi e fughe per flauto solo - Jan Novák

Due preludi e fughe per flauto solo - Jan Novák

In 1979 Jan Novák visited a flute solo concert performance with compositions by Johann Sebastian and Carl Philipp Emmanuel Bach.

This inspired him to write himself several preludes and fugues, initially "Die Wohltemperierte Flöte". Finally he managed to finish only four preludes and fugues; the fifth remained a sketch. Two of these pairs of compositions, A major and c minor, were published by the Italian publisher Zanibon as “Due Preludi e Fughe”, and were for long considered to be the only existing ones. Both were premiered in Milano, Italy, in 1979, at the opening of a painting exhibition dedicated to Ladislav Dydek's works, a Czech artist who was a close friend of Jan Novák. He has been living with his family on the Garda Lake as well.

A new revised edition is truly necessary, as the Zanibon Edition no longer exists, and these beautiful pieces are increasingly popular among flutists, not only in concert programs, but also at competitions and exams.

Both preludes are of very contrasting expression, and the fugues are written respecting the compositional rules, which could seem difficult, the flute being a monodic instrument. The Fuga in La (super Cuculi cantum) has as main theme the cuckoo's calling.

Other compositions by Jan Novák published in Czech Radio:
Aeolia for two Flutes and Piano
Capriccio for Violoncello and Orchestra
Capriccio for Violoncello and Orchestra - Piano score
Elegantiae tripudiorum
Elegantiae tripudiorum for Piano
IV Hymni christiani (for Piano and Vocal part ad libitum)
Choreae vernales for Flute and Piano
Choreae vernales for Flute and Guitar
Choreae vernales for Flute, String Orchestra and Harp with Celesta or Piano
Odarum concentus choro fidium
Panisci fistula
Prima sonata for Piano
Rotundelli for Violoncello and Piano
Scherzi pastorali for Clarinet (or Bass Clarinet) and Piano
Sonata brevis for Harpsichord
Sonata tribus for Flute, Violin and Piano
Sonatina for Flute and Piano
Strepitus festivi for Four French Horns
Tibia fugitiva for Flute solo
Toccata chromatica for Piano
Variations on the Theme by Bohuslav Martinů for two Pianos