Sonata tribus - Jan Novák

Sonata tribus (Sonata For Three) was written in 1982 in the German town of Ulm. Like most compositions of the period, also this chamber sonata was written for one´s family and friends.

It was premiered by Novák´s rife Eliška on the piano and by thein daughter Clara on the flute; the violin part was performed by the Polish virtuoso Jerzy Nebel, a citizen of Ulm at the time.

In the sonata, Novák makes full use of the audio effects of the mutually permeating sound of the flute and the violin. This is also the case of the beautiful second movement, which surpasses the standard boundaries of the slow movements both thank to its grand structure and the depth of the music. Sonata tribus is often performed also with a cello instead of the violin; the author himself, however, did not have the oportunity to her this version.

Other compositions by Jan Novák published in Czech Radio:
Capriccio - score
Capriccio - Piano score
Dido / piano score
Due preludi e fughe per flauto solo
Elegantiae tripudiorum
Elegantiae tripudiorum for Piano
IV Hymni christiani
Choreae vernales for Flute and Guitar
Choreae vernales for Flute and Piano
Choreae vernales for Flute, String Orchestra and Harp with Celesta or Piano
Odarum concentus choro fidium
Panisci fistula
Prima sonata
Scherzi pastorali for Clarinet (or Bass Clarinet) and Piano
Sonata brevis
Sonata da chiesa II for Flute and Organ
Sonatina for Flute and Piano
Strepitus festivi for Four French Horns
Tibia fugitiva
Toccata chromatica
Variations on the Theme by Bohuslav Martinu