Elegantiae tripudiorum - Jan Novák

Elegantiae tripudiorum, the elegance of the waltz: ten compositions that - besides individual qualities of each separate part - form one grand work of art: It is the Waltz itself that, dancing gracefully, enters the scene and guides both the listener and the performing artist through the entire waltz era and the sundry trends recognizable within the waltz style.

A fanciful fireworks display of the waltz form, Elegantiae tripudiorum portrays each individual waltz both with pantomimic perfection and human spontaneousness. An independent orchestral version of the work bears the subtitle "symphoniā minore". Judging by the Latin title of the composition, a generous measure of humour and elegance on the part of the composer is to be expected. Yet again, the author's humane existential worldview is palpable here: the waltz enters the history and then leaves it again, doing so with characteristic subtlety and elegance.

Other compositions by Jan Novák published in Czech Radio:
Capriccio - score
Capriccio - piano score
Elegantiae tripudiorum for Piano
IV Hymni christiani
Choreae vernales for Flute and Guitar
Choreae vernales for Flute and Piano
Choreae vernales for Flute, String Orchestra and Harp with Celesta or Piano
Odarum concentus choro fidium
Panisci fistula
Prima sonata
Scherzi pastorali for Clarinet (or Bass Clarinet) and Piano
Sonata brevis
Sonata da chiesa II for Flute and Organ
Sonata tribus
Sonatina for Flute and Piano
Strepitus festivi for Four French Horns
Tibia fugitiva
Toccata chromatica
Variations on the theme by Bohuslav Martinů

instrumentation2fl, 2ob, 2cl, 2fg, 2cor, 2trb, pfte, archidescriptionscorepubl.NoR 179price220,- CZK

Parts only for hire at nakladatelstvi@rozhlas.cz