Tibia fugitiva - Jan Novák

In 1979 Jan Novák (1921-1984) composed several preludes and fugues for flute under the impression of a concert performance of solo compositions by Johann Sebastian and Carl Philipp Emmanuel Bach. Initially, Novák's plan was to write "Die Wohltemperierte Flöte". In the end, however, he managed to finish only four preludes and fugues; the fifth remained a sketch. Two of these pairs of compositions, A major and c minor, were published by the Italian publishing house Zanibon as Due Preludi e Fughe, and were for long considered to be the only existing pieces. Only in the summer 2007 a manuscript copy entitled TIBIA FUGITIVA happened to find its way into Clara Novak´s hands - the composer´s daughter and flautist. It contained all four preludes and fugues - RE, FA, LA, DO (D major, f minor, A major, c minor), respectively.

This edition of the two "lost" preludes and fugues thus fills up the blank in Jan Novák's works for flute. The Latin titles of the pieces, characteristic of Novák, were preserved, as well as the potential cut in the second fugue that results from the existence of two differing sources. Tibia fugitiva is a major contribution to the solo flute repertoire, formally drawing on the production of the Baroque masters, but at the same time being very much alive thanks to the inspiration and mastery of one of the most compelling Czech composers of the 20th century.

Other compositions by Jan Novák published in Czech Radio:
Capriccio - score
Capriccio - piano score
Dido / piano score
Due preludi e fughe per flauto solo
Elegantiae tripudiorum
Elegantiae tripudiorum for Piano
IV Hymni christiani
Choreae vernales for Flute and Guitar
Choreae vernales for Flute and Piano
Choreae vernales for Flute, String Orchestra and Harp with Celesta or Piano
Odarum concentus choro fidium
Panisci fistula
Prima sonata
Scherzi pastorali for Clarinet (or Bass Clarinet) and Piano
Sonata brevis
Sonata da chiesa II for Flute and Organ
Sonata tribus
Sonatina for Flute and Piano
Toccata chromatica
Variations on the Theme by Bohuslav Martinů

instrumentationfldescriptionpartpubl.NoR 142price105,- CZK