Czech Radio maintains its strong position in EBU’s supreme authority

9. květen 2017

Director General of Czech Radio René Zavoral has been elected member of a core body of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) for the third time. In the next two years, Mr Zavoral will newly discharge also the office of Vice-chairman of the EBU Radio Committee, composed of heads of public service radio broadcasters, including the BBC. The composition of the new team for the 2017-2019 period was confirmed by the delegates of the EBU Radio Assembly taking place in Pilsen on 3 and 4 May.

“My re-election in the Radio Committee, as well as my new position as Vice-chairman, clearly indicate that Czech Radio plays a significant and active role among European public service broadcasters. My priorities include supporting innovative radio projects allowing public service media to attract new listeners, and offering better and more varied content to the existing ones. The topic of digitalising radio broadcasting remains important too,” said Director General René Zavoral.

Composed of 14 members, the Radio Committee is the main governing body of the EBU. It makes decisions on strategic priorities for radio broadcasting in Europe. The committee also forms joint opinions of public service radios on legislation, copyright issues in the field of music production and digitalising, and supports the development of radio broadcasting in EBU member countries.

Apart from determining strategic priorities for radio broadcasting in Europe for the upcoming years, the Radio Committee addresses, in particular, the issue of digitalisation of radio broadcasting, financial management of European public service radios, “multi-medialisation” and evaluation of the effectiveness of activities of public service broadcasters.

The members of the Radio Committee are elected every two years at the EBU Radio Assembly. This year, the assembly was held in Pilsen and organised by Czech Radio for the first time. The election was preceded by two days of meetings concerned with a wide range of topics, such as digitalising, legislative changes aimed at easier sharing of public service media content across Europe, as well as a discussion on the fake news phenomenon, and news reporting in today’s post-factual world.

Members of the EBU Radio Committee (2017 – 2019):

Radio Assembly 2017.jpg

Graham Ellis (BBC)
Marius Lillelien (NRK)
Serge Schick (SRF)
René Zavoral (CR)

Angelika Bierbaum (ARD/HR)
Andrea Borgnino (Rai)
Francis Goffin (RTBF)
José Gabriel Herrero (RTVE)
Miha Lamprecht (RTVSLO)
Zoran Mihajlovič (HRT)
Marianna Mucsányi (MTVA)
Marc Savary (SRG SSR)
Albena Milanova (BNR)
Gustav Lützhøft (DR)

author: Jiří Hošna
Spustit audio