Sonatas for Flute and Basso Continuo, op. 3 - Václav Vodička (ed. Michaela Ambrosi)

6. březen 2017

Václav Vodička (Wenceslao Wodiczka) (c.1712–1774) was one of the musicians-composers who belonged to Czech musical emigration of the eighteenth century. He worked in Munich and Paris and his output includes symphonies, Violin or Flute concertos and sonatas.

„For the release of the Six Sonatas for Flute and Basso Continuo, op. 3 by Václav Vodička (c.1712–1774) only one source was used, as the original autograph manuscripts no longer exist.
It is a Parisian print published by Charles-Nicolas Le Clerc which is now stored in the music department of the Paris National Library (Bibliothèque nationale de France) under the signature RES VMA-421 (2). In 1753, Vodička released a third volume of his sonatas entitled “Sei sonate a flauto solo e basso e violoncello ... Opera terza”. This print formerly belonged to the collection of musicologist Geneviève Thibault, Countess of Chambure. A large part of her collection, containing manuscripts, prints and musical instruments, was devoted to the French State after her death.

During the preparation of this edition it was decided to make only the necessary adjustments and thus leave the resulting work and its historic character intact. Modifications are mainly related to corrections of typographical errors in notation, and inconsistencies in accidentals and dynamics. The intention was to transfer most accurately the primary source in regards to modern rules of notation and to improve readability for current performers and scholars.

Our edition offers two options for the accompanist: the version with the figured bass and another one with an additional realization for the right hand. Keyboard players able to read basso continuo are advised to use the former one and develop from it their own ideas and sound concept. For the ones lacking that skill the written-out version offers a possibility of accompaniment based on the precepts of this performance practice." Michaela Ambrosi

Opus 3 by Vodička is published as 25th volume of historical series Thesuarus Antiquae Musicae and includes these sonatas:
Sonata No. 1 C major for Flute and Basso continuo
Sonata No. 2 D major for Flute and Basso continuo
Sonata No. 3 G major for Flute and Basso continuo
Sonata No. 4 B minor for Flute and Basso continuo
Sonata No. 5 G major for Flute and Basso continuo
Sonata No. 6 A major for Flute and Basso continuo

Other compositions edited by Michaela Ambrosi and published in Czech Radio:
Sonatas for Violin or Flute and Basso continuo, op. 2 - Václav Vodička

Spustit audio